Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
The Circuit Clerk’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Please note that recording, issuance of marriage licenses and receipting ends at 4:00 p.m. The office will be closed on scheduled State holidays. Call 540-775-3322 for court scheduling.
You are not required to have an attorney; however, it is highly recommended to consult one regarding your case. PLEASE NOTE that the Circuit Court's staff cannot give you legal advice, recommend legal action, or interpret legal documents, procedures, or requirements. Further, they are not responsible for the content of documents submitted to the Court or for ensuring that the parties comply with the filing requirements. You are encouraged to seek the advice of a licensed Virginia attorney for such matters.
The following are several options if you need assistance in finding an attorney:
Lists of the Law, Civil and Miscellaneous Filing Fees are available on-line at http://webdev.courts.state.va.us/cgi-bin/DJIT/ef_djs_ccfees_calc.cgi. They are only a guide and may change from time to time. Call the Clerk's Office at 540-775-3322 to determine the exact costs.
The length of a "term" of court in the King George Circuit Court is four (4) months. Terms of court begin on the second Thursday of January, April, July, and October.
Misdemeanor and traffic infractions appealed to the Circuit Court from General District Court are set on the next term day after appeal is perfected. Criminal and Civil cases are set by the court on term days in accordance with local rules. Grand Juries convene on term day which is the second Thursday of January, April, July, and October.
Motions are scheduled by appointment only. Please call the clerk at 540-775-3322 for available dates. Trial dates for civil cases are set on term days by the filing of a praecipe.
The Circuit Court is located in the King George County Courts building:
9483 Kings HighwaySuite Number 3King George, Virginia 22485Phone: 540-775-3322Email
Cigarette Tax is a tax levied and collected by sellers and dealers of packaged cigarettes. The tax is imposed through the purchasing of stamps by distributors which must affix to cigarette packs if they are to be sold in King George County. The current tax rate for cigarettes is $0.02 per cigarette or $0.40 per pack of twenty cigarettes.
Contractors must pay on the contract amount. The formula is: Contract amount multiply by .0012 = Amount Due for business license tax.
Yes, non-profit organizations are exempt from business license tax.
Meals Tax is due the 20th of every month, for the previous month. Transient Tax is due the last day of every month, for the previous month.
Our office uses 100% of the clean trade-in value from the N.A.D.A. book, (National Auto Dealers Association), not the Kelly Blue Book!
Yes, our office allows 20,000 miles per year of the vehicle. High mileage documentation must be filled with our office by February 15th each year. Documentation may be, original pink slip from inspection, odometer statement on letterhead from an automotive shop, recent repair bill with odometer reading. This office does not accept photographs of odometer reading from tax payer. See High Mileage Chart under Documents and Forms on this site.
Our office gets its' records directly from the Department Of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Until you tell DMV to remove items that you no longer own from your name, our office will be unable to remove these items from your account. Our records must match the Department Of Motor Vehicle (DMV) records. Until such items are removed from DMV, you will continue to be assessed on them. It is your responsibility to maintain accurate information with the Department Of Motor Vehicles.
All address changes need to be made at the Commissioner of the Revenue Office for billing purposes. If your bill goes to the wrong address due to incorrect address information, you will not be exempt from any penalties or interest that may accrue. It is the responsibility of the taxpayer to contact the Commissioner’s office with your address change. You must contact the Treasurer’s office if you do not receive your bill, at 540-775-2571.
Yes, all vehicles are taxable even if you do not currently have tags on them.
If your home state of record is Virginia, you are responsible for your personal property taxes in Virginia. If there is another person, excluding your spouse, who is not military and is on the vehicle title with you, you are no longer exempt from personal property tax. For exemption, you must file a copy of your January LES at the Commissioner of the Revenue Office each year. If your spouse is on the vehicle title you must also provide your spouse’s military dependent ID to the Commissioner of the Revenue Office.
The phone number for the Department of Taxation is 804-367-8031.
The address is:
Commissioner of the Revenue10459 Courthouse DriveSuite 101King George, VA 22485-3865
For Refunds- Department of Taxation:
Refunds- Department of TaxationP.O. Box 1498Richmond, VA 23218-1498
For Tax due- Department of Taxation:
Tax due- Department of TaxationP.O. Box 760Richmond, VA 23218-0760
It may take up to 8 weeks.
When the reassessment process is completed, the Assessor or Board of Assessors will hold hearings. At the completion of these hearings, a Board of Equalization is established to review any complaints and possibly act on them. Once the Board of Equalization has completed this review, the only option is to petition the Circuit Court in accordance with Section 58.1-3984 of the Code of Virginia. Please contact the King George County Court system for guidelines to proceed with this process.
The county tax maps are located in the Commissioner of the Revenue's office. Copies of deeds, wills, surveys and plats are located in the Clerk of the Circuit Court's office which is in the Courthouse building.
If your business is located in King George, contact Community Development/Zoning. They must approve the business location. Complete a SCC form (State Corporation Commission) for Certificate of Assumed or Fictitious Name online at SCC or by phone 804-371-9733. Bring copies of these papers to the Commissioner of the Revenue’s office along with completed business license registration and a license will be issued. See Business License Application (PDF) for additional information. Contractors from other localities may or may not need a business license but must contact the Commissioner’s office to confirm.
Exemption for the elderly and disabled persons:
Disabled persons must follow the same income and assets guidelines and if under 65 years of age, a sworn affidavit by (2) medical doctors licensed to practice in Virginia, stating that the taxpayer is permanently and totally disabled, must accompany the application along with other proof which is noted in the application.
Please refer to the Documents and Forms section or contact Judy S Hart, Commissioner of the Revenue.
It must be postmarked by May 1st.
You may make them out to Treasurer, King George County.
Yes, we have the State Income Tax forms. We do not have Federal Income Tax forms.
Every four years, a reassessment is conducted for the entire county. An appraisal firm is contracted to assess every parcel at its fair market value. These assessments stay in effect for four years unless the landowner makes a change such as division of the property, new construction has occurred, or a change in zoning or boundary adjustments.
2023 Real Estate / Mobile Home: $0.68 cents per $100.00 assessed value
2023 Personal Property: $3.25 per $100.00 assessed value
2023 Machinery & Tools: $2.50 per $100.00 assessed value
Yes, King George County offers a complete personal property tax exemption for one vehicle that is owned and used primarily by the Disabled Veteran. The Disabled Veteran must contact the Commissioner's Office to verify the office is aware of their status.
Please arrive between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. to pick up building permit. For more information, please call 540-775-7111.
Yes. Please call 540-775-7111 before 3 p.m. to schedule an inspection for the following day. Information that will be requested to schedule an inspection:
Inspections cannot be scheduled from voice mail. Please keep in mind that an inspection cannot be made on an occupied residence of nobody is home.
Click here to view Tips on Hiring a Contractor.
No. You may call 540-775-7111 between the hours of 8 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. on the day of your inspection to see what time the inspector thinks they will be there.
Please call 540-775-7111 between 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. in the morning and 3:30 p.m. to 5 p.m. in the afternoon to speak with an inspector.
If all required information is provided, a permit is usually processed within 7-10 business days from the date of application. For more information, please call 540-775-7111.
Visit the Code of Ordinances site.
Please call 540-775-7111 between 8 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. in the morning and 3:30 p.m. to 4 p.m. in the afternoon to speak with an inspector.
Cash or check for building permits. Performance bonds for single-family dwellings, when required, must be paid with a cashier's check, money order, or cash. For more information, please call 540-775-7111.
Usually within two weeks after the Erosion and Sediment Control inspection is passed. Please contact 540-775-3243 for questions regarding addresses and roads.
Please call 540-775-7111 to report a missing and/or damaged road sign.
The Health Department's phone number is 540-775-3111.
Visit King George Economic Development Authority Property for Sale.
View Minor Subdivision Handout
View Setback Requirements
View the Board of Supervisors Agendas and Minutes.
Visit the Municode website for Code of Ordinances for King George County.
The main location, 10376 Bullock Drive, is open Monday through Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and on Sundays from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. The Convenience Center located on Route 205 is open Monday through Saturday 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Every 1st and 3rd Tuesday, beginning at 6:30 p.m.; meetings are held in the Revercomb Administration Building Board Room.
Atlantic Broadband serves the telecommunication (video, Internet & phone) needs for King George County. They also deliver Atlantic Broadband Business Services to small/medium size businesses. For larger enterprises, Atlantic Broadband provides secure fiber networking, managed unified communications and mobility, PRI/VoIP and conferencing solutions, for medium to large companies. This robust portfolio of integrated solutions ensures businesses stay ahead of shifting demand and technology advancements.
The residential web site address is: www.atlanticbb.com and the ABB Business Services site address is: www.atlanticbb.com/business
To obtain a copy of a Fire and/or EMS report, please complete a Report Request Form (PDF) and bring to Fire/Rescue Headquarters. Please allow up to 48 hours to process your request.
Contact Fire/Rescue Headquarters at least two weeks in advance at 540-775-8906 and leave a detailed message. Our Public Education Coordinator will contact you within a few days.
Stop by any Fire/Rescue Station, provided personnel are not on calls.
These items may be disposed of at the King George County Landfill during certain times of the year. Please contact the landfill office for more information.
Job openings are posted on the King George County jobs website. Details on the hiring process for a Firefighter/Medic are outlined in the Departmental SOP.
The Virginia State Burn Ban runs from February 15th through April 30th. For more information, please contact the Virginia Department of Forestry.
No. Fire Departments can only fill wells and swimming pools in they are certified to haul potable water, which we are not. You will have to contact a pool contractor or other water hauling company for more information.
Yes. Occasionally the Fire Department will accept old vehicles to use for training. If you have a vehicle that you would like to donate, please contact our Training Captain at 540-775-8900.
Please see the Fire/Rescue Stations Section or the following Map (PDF).
During a disaster you can call the Emergency Operations Center Assistance Hotline at 540-775-8950. Please note that this number is only monitored when the EOC is activated during an event.
Please refer to our Ambulance Fee For Service page.
The Ambulance Fee for Service Program will start on August 1, 2007.
The billing company will have customer service representatives to address your questions. If you are not satisfied with this response or wish to speak with someone locally, you can contact the Department of Fire, Rescue and Emergency Services at 540-775-7995 or email your questions.
The Compassionate Billing Policy includes:
Insured patients, who are residents of King George County, are not responsible for any ambulance transport service fees not paid by their insurance carrier or carriers. All other patients are responsible for ambulance transport service fees not paid by their insurance carrier or carriers unless otherwise waived as provided in the Compassionate Billing Policy.
Patients are not responsible for any amount of the ambulance transport service fees adjusted by insurance carriers as a result of state or federal regulations or by agreement with King George County.
Several billing vendors advised that this should not occur, as most if not all policies do not have a limit on emergency transports related to EMS service. If this did occur, the County could decide to waive some or all of the charge for residents based upon the circumstances. Under King George’s Compassionate Billing Policy, additional fees may be waived.
King George County’s billing company will not pursue payment recovery through a debt collection agency without the expressed authorization of the County Administrator or his designee.
It is the intent of the County to utilize the Office of Inspector General (OIG) opinion for County residents, so the out-of-pocket expense for the co-pay will not need to be paid by County residents.
Ability to pay will never be considered when providing service. When residents need emergency assistance, they should call 911 without hesitation. Also, based upon the localities we have contacted, they have all reported that there has not been a decrease in call volume and in most cases call volume has increased.
No. If you or family members are not transported, there will be no bill for services rendered. Ambulance fee for service is based on what is termed "loaded service," whereby someone is actually transported.
Staff has estimated that approximately $300,000 to $400,000 in revenue may be generated for the full first fiscal year.
Many automobile insurance policies and homeowners' insurance policies provide some form of coverage if the insured was injured and required transport by ambulance, per information provided to staff by several billing companies. County staff recommends that citizens review their insurance coverage to verify their limits of coverage under each policy. In speaking with the billing contractors, they routinely bill health insurance first, and then auto, and lastly any other form of insurance.
King George County contracts this service out to a private company to handle the billing process. After patient care is provided, insurance information will be obtained routinely, often at the hospital. King George County will waive co-payments and deductibles for county residents. Non-insured residents will receive an initial statement from the billing company, while insured residents will receive an explanation of benefits (EOB) from their insurance company. All patients may apply for the hardship waiver, if needed.
Yes, only County residents will have their co-payments and deductibles waived.
Unfortunately, health insurance premiums continue to rise regardless of whether or not a community decides to bill for EMS transports. Such factors as prescription-drug coverage, litigation, technology improvements in the medical field and depressed insurance company investment returns have resulted in escalating health insurance premium costs. However, ambulance transport costs represent less than 1% of health care expenditures. Many other local governments in Virginia have implemented a revenue recovery program for ambulance transport fees, and they have reported no evidence that EMS billing increases health insurance premiums.
Persons using the Emergency Medical Service are asked to provide any insurance information you have at the time of service, whenever possible. Attending to the patient’s medical needs will always be the first priority.
If your insurance information is not available at the time of service, the billing company will attempt to obtain the information at the hospital. If the information cannot be obtained, you may receive a letter asking you to provide the information. You can contact the billing office to provide the information. When the billing office receives the information, your insurance will be billed. You will not receive any further correspondence or bills until the insurance company has made a determination on your claim.
King George County will be using Medical Accounts Receivable Systems (MARS)/Ambulance Medical Billing (AMB) for billing services. They can be contacted 800-749-7026 or on the web.
You can visit Ambulance Fee for Service page.
Yes, currently similar programs have been implemented within Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Charles County, Maryland. The City of Fredericksburg and Caroline County are in the planning phase of implementing this type of program.
2021 REAL PROPERTY REASSESSMENT PROCESS
Most County residents have received or will shortly receive the Real Estate Notice of Change in Assessment from the Commissioner of the Revenue. The Notice is self-explanatory, but there may be some questions.
The law requires that the Commissioner of the Revenue reassess real property (land) every four years.
The Commissioner of the Revenue uses an independent third-party to conduct the assessments.
The reassessment is the new value of your land for years 2022-2025.
That value will be used in conjunction with the real estate tax rate to determine your real estate tax bill each year.
That is why the Notice states: **THIS IS NOT A TAX BILL**
Your tax obligation will be determined once the Board of Supervisors sets the tax rate. That will be done only after public hearing(s) and ample opportunity for public input and comment at public meetings of the Board of Supervisors.
When the reassessment process is completed, the Assessor or Board of Assessors will hold hearings. At the completion of these hearings, a Board of Equalization is established to review any complaints and possibly act on them. Once the Board of Equalization has completed this review, the only option is to petition the Circuit Court in accordance Section 58.1-3984 of the Code of Virginia. Please contact the King George County Court system for guidelines to proceed with this process.
If you have questions, comments or disagree with your assessment, please follow the directions on the Notice and/or use this contact:
Neither the Commissioner nor the Board of Supervisors can alter any assessment.
Only the assessor, the Board of Equalization or a court may alter an assessment.
If you have further questions, here is a link to the Commissioner of the Revenue’s FAQ page on the County website if you have further questions: https://www.kinggeorgecountyva.gov/FAQ.aspx?TID=17
The Revercomb Administration building is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., due to the pandemic. The Courthouse is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
It’s an excise tax on the sale of cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco, in King George County. Details about the tax are forthcoming.
King George County’s budget is a financial guide for citizens and staff. The purpose of is to communicate the initiatives authorized by the Board of Supervisors and enacted by the County Administrator. This document accounts for the County’s anticipated income from various revenue sources and how these resources are to be used during the fiscal year. The reader will also find background information such as how the organization is structured and other pertinent statistical data about King George County. The Adopted Budget Document, developed for information and planning purposes, represents revenues and expenditures for the year beginning July 1, and ending June 30.
Open Current Adopted Budget
Information about the King George County Board of Supervisors can be found at the Board of Supervisors Page.
Real Estate (land) taxes and Personal Property (tangible property) are both due June 5th and December 5th.
King George County’s Department of Community Development handles the application and processing for all residential and commercial permitting.
We accept the following items for disposal: Household trash, appliances, used tires that have been removed from the rim. Additionally, we accept the following items for recycling: used anti-freeze, car batteries, used motor oil, news paper, aluminum cans, and glass containers. We also accept tree and yard waste at the Bullock Drive facility.
Fictitious Names, for Business Licenses are no longer handled in King George County Circuit Court. These trade name issues are now handled by the Virginia State Corporation Commission.
The link to use to submit a name to the VSCC is: Submit Business License Fictitious Names to VSCC
Please review our GIS data disclaimer and then visit our Open Data webpage to download GIS data.
The GIS data is always being updated, with most of the GIS services, like the OnlineGIS, being updated on a quarterly schedule.
Click on the black and white 'i' button tool in the upper right corner of the Online GIS for more information on tools and tips for the Online GIS.
Please review our GIS Map Fees for map sheet and map book costs.
Please contact the GIS Manager at 540-775-8558 or by email.
A Geographic Information System (GIS) lets us visualize, question, analyze, and interpret data to understand relationships, patterns, and trends. Click the following link to learn more about GIS (thanks Amelia and STEM club).
Please browse the annual GIS reports to see the many applications and benefits of GIS in King George County.
The GIS Manager manages the design and support of the GIS and it's data, while working with county staff, board members, and citizens on various GIS projects.
The GIS Analyst II primarily handles the maintenance of the tax maps, zoning maps, and E-911 data (roads, addresses, building footprints, and driveways).
Complete the fillable King George Resident Library Card Application or the Non-Resident Library Card Application and print.
Then, bring the completed application with photo identification to the Library.
If you do not have a King George County address on your photo ID, then please also bring supporting documentation, such as a utility bill.
Out-of-County residents may obtain a library card, but are subject to a yearly fee of $25.
To renew your items, you must first login to your account using the Account Login button at the bottom of the page.
Once you are logged in, select Loans under Quick View OR select Current Loans under Account Summary.
Select the box next to the item you wish to renew. You may select all of the items by selecting the box next to the word Title.
When satisfied, select Renew.
A box then will appear stating that the item(s) have been renewed.
If you have already renewed the item(s) once or an item is on hold for another patron, you will receive a message stating "One or more items cannot be renewed, please check with the Circulation Desk."
If you have fines on the account, you will not be able to renew your items until the fine has been cleared.
If you have questions about renewing your items, then please contact the Circulation Desk at 775-2147 or at Circulation@smoot.org.
In the event that you need an item that the Library does not own, you may request the item through the Interlibrary Loan Service. All items require a $3 charge to cover the shipping, except the periodicals which are $1. Some libraries may require additional charges. Please note that lending libraries may not honor requests for new items. If you have questions about ILLs, then please contact the Reference Desk at 775-2147 or at Reference@smoot.org. In addition, you can use this online form.
The Library has several meeting rooms available for public use during regular hours of operation. Meeting and Quiet Study Rooms can be booked online. Meeting Rooms may be booked up to 24 hours in advance and Quiet Study Rooms may be booked up to 2 hours in advance. For more information, please contact the Reference Department at 540-775-2147 or by emailing Reference@smoot.org
Yes, the library has Wifi available to the public. However, wireless printing is currently not available.
The best way to inquire about renting the Citizen Center or any other facility is to call or stop by our office. We will be happy to give you all the information about renting a facility including price, date availability, number of guests, and ABC licenses.
We are open on the following days:
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 - 7:00
Friday: 8:00 - 4:30
We are closed on Saturday and Sunday.
The Parks and Recreation office is inside the Citizens Center which is located at 8076 Kings Highway in King George (next to the King George Fire and Rescue Company 1 and across the street from the Food Lion on Route 3).
Currently, our program registration on this website is under construction! If you click on the registration tab, it will show a link that will take you to RecDesk, our current program registration site. There you will find all the programs that we offer that have online registration available.
If you do not see a program on the RecDesk portal, it most likely means that you have to come to the Citizens Center to register for this program. Some programs we offer have extra paperwork that isn't able to be included in the portal so that has to be filled out at our office.
Hopefully you have received a phone message or email from RecDesk announcing a cancellation. The best and most up-to-date way to find out about cancellations for our programs and events is KG Alert. KG Alert is a free text and email alert system that sends you messages about certain cancellations, emergencies, road closures, or inclement weather. You can sign up for this service on the KG Alert website but make sure you check Parks and Recreation to receive updates and cancellation alerts about programs and events.
If a program has made and is not full of participants, day of registration is certainly welcome. However, pre-registration is very important in our department. Determining how the program goes corresponds to how many people are pre-registered for that program. This gives us the time to gather supplies for the program and do any pre-planning that may be needed. Some classes are designed for drop-in students like Yoga, but most of our programs run smoothly because the participants are preregistered.
Yes, your money can be transferred to another week that your child will be attending, but you must call and inform either Janine Paulsen, the program supervisor or your site director that your child will not be attending and you would like your money transferred.
The Play It Smart closing policy is as follows:
- If schools are closed, there is no Play It Smart.
- If there is a morning delay, there is no AM Play It Smart.
- If there is an early dismissal (whether it be planned, for inclement weather, etc), there is no PM Play It Smart.
Any other situation regarding a closing, you will be notified by KG Alert or email regarding that closure.
Please note: Although we do close corresponding to school closings, King George Parks and Recreations Play It Smart Program is not affiliated with the school system.
Yes, please let your site director know when your child will not be attending Play It Smart. In addition, please also let them know when they will be attending so they know to look for them to show up. Also, since we are not affiliated with the school, you must call the school and let them know to tell your child to go to Play It Smart if they attend in the evening.
If you signed your child up for a league sport, they are now part of a team. Usually, the number of children they put on each team is often corresponding to how many players are needed plus a few extra. It is important that your child attend practices and games to learn how their team works and to learn the importance of teamwork. In event that your child cannot be there for whatever circumstance, please let your coach so they can accommodate and plan ahead for your child's absence.
There are plenty of parks in King George with multiple things to do including walking trails, playgrounds, baseball/softball fields, soccer fields, and more. There is a tab at the top of our website labeled Facilities and you will find all the locations and addresses for these plus additional information about the facilities their.
No, please wait for official confirmation via email from RecDesk that will let you know that you are on the schedule for that date.
You can vote absentee in Virginia if you are a registered voter in Virginia.
Early Voting In-Person
Absentee Voting by Mail
Call, write, or stop by any voter’s registrar’s office in Virginia and ask for an absentee application or visit the Virginia Department of Elections.
An application for an absentee ballot may be accepted the later of:
If you are applying to vote by mail, the registrar must receive your application 11 days prior to the election. The deadline to early vote in-person is 5 p.m. on the Saturday before the election.
You will receive instructions with the ballot. Vote the ballot as soon as you receive it and put it in the envelope provided. You may deliver it in person or mail it. The electoral board must receive your ballot at Revercomb Building, Suite 102 by 7 p.m. on Election Day.
Important: First class mail is not one day delivery. Please place your marked ballot in the mail at least 7 days prior to the election in order for our office to receive it before the election.
Yes, if you are a registered voter in Virginia and,
Call your voter registrar before noon on the day before the election ask for an emergency absentee ballot application. You will need someone age 18 or older to pick up the application for you and return it completed.
Whenever possible, Election Officers are assigned to their "home" precinct. However, if there are no vacancies at your polling place, you may be assigned to a nearby precinct.
Your pay will depend on the duty you perform at your precinct.
If you would like to apply to serve as a King George County election officer please Email us with the following information: your full name, current address, daytime telephone number and your date of birth. This information is necessary in order to verify your voter registration. Also please indicate whether you would prefer to represent either the Democratic party or the Republican party on Election day, as mandated by the Code of Virginia, §24.2-115, Appointment, qualifications, and term of officers of election. You may also apply by calling the Voter Registration Office at 540-775-9186. The King George County Electoral Board greatly appreciates those citizens who help us to make our elections work!
The polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. If you are in line by 7 p.m. you may still vote.
General elections are held on the Tuesday following the first Monday in November.
You can register to vote in Virginia if:
You can register online through the Virginia Department of Elections website. You can register anytime of the year, however, registration is closed for the 21 days prior to a general or primary election, and 14 days prior to a special election.
Voter registration is free.
You can register to vote at any of the following places:
You must provide the following information when you register:
No. Virginia does not have voter registration by party.
If you cannot leave home because you are physically disabled or have a continuing illness, call or write your voter registrar. The registrar will send you a mail-in application registration, which is also available at registrar's offices, DMV offices, public libraries and other locations.
No, if you have not moved between elections.
Call or write any voter registrar. Ask for a voter registration form. The registrar will send you a form and tell you how to complete it and where to mail it. You can also stop by any registration site and complete a new application for voter registration.
Tell your voter registrar in writing, or stop by any voter registration site and complete a new application for voter registration. You can also send in the address change portion of your voter registration card.
No, you must register in Virginia.
Persons convicted of a felony, who want their voting rights restored, must apply to the Governor. For information, write the Secretary of the Commonwealth:P.O. Box 2454Richmond VA 23201-2454.
Persons judged by a circuit court to be mentally incompetent, who want their rights restored, must obtain a court order restoring their competency.
The registrar will send you a voter registration card with the name and location of your polling place. You will find your districts listed on the card so you can refer to this website for the people who represent you in our government. There are 5 precincts located in our County, view the Polling Locations page for specific locations in the County.
The Democratic and Republican parties may nominate their candidates by either a primary election or by convention. If the party asks for a primary election for the November election, it will be held on the second Tuesday in June.
If you are a registered voter, you may vote in any primary. However, if a primary is held for both parties on the same day in the same election district, you must choose in which party primary you wish to vote and may vote in only one.
You are eligible to return to your old precinct and vote. You must change your address or name at the time to be eligible for future elections. If you move out of the Commonwealth, you will not be allowed to vote except in Federal elections for President and Vice President only.
Please contact MuniBilling at 877-210-9274. They will be happy to setup or cancel your account. You can also e-mail them at email@example.com.
No, payments for utility bills cannot be dropped off at the Treasurer’s Office or in the drop box outside the administration building. There are several options available to pay your bill; view them here.
Our regulations prohibit the adjustment of sewer related to filling a pool.
The most common cause of an unexpected high bill is a leak, and the most common leak is a leaking toilet. Just one toilet running can waste over 1,000 gallons of water in a single day. This is usually an inexpensive and easy fix. There may also be leaks in other parts of your plumbing system.
Another cause of a high bill is an increase in usage. This could be changes in outdoor use including watering the lawn, the use of a sprinkler system, or even kids playing in the hose or sprinkler over the summer.
If you believe your statement is incorrect, please contact MuniBilling at 877-210-9274. They will be happy to send a maintenance technician to recheck the read on your meter and make any adjustments if needed.
In 1991, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) published the Lead and Copper Rule, which requires systems to monitor drinking water at customer taps.
Residents who live in homes built prior to 1986 may be at risk of exposure to lead and are advised to seek out the following resources for more information:
Sign up for KG Alerts to receive emergency notifications about your water service.
Call before you dig. Submit a ticket request with Miss Utility (VA 811) here.
The Sheriff always enjoys getting feedback from citizens, especially when an employee has performed in an exceptional manner. If you would like to recognize an officer, or other employee, for a job well done, please feel free to inform the Sheriff in whatever method of correspondence is most convenient. View contact information for the King George County Sheriff's Office, whether you prefer to write a letter, send an email, or call the Sheriff.
If you wish to make a complaint about the actions of a deputy or about any aspect of deputy operations, please:
46.2-1156.1. Transportation of persons less than sixteen years old in pickup truck beds prohibited; exception. No person under sixteen years of age shall be transported in the rear cargo area of any pickup truck on the highways of Virginia. The provisions of this section shall not apply to transportation of persons in the bed of any pickup truck being operated:
46.2-1095. Child restraint devices required when transporting certain children; safety belts for other children less than sixteen years old required; penalty.
46.2-1052. Tinting films, signs, decals, and stickers on windshields, etc.; penalties.
Copies of reportable accidents can be obtained in person, by written request or faxed if the number is local from the Administrative/Records Office. There is no fee for this service.
A local records check of KG Sheriff's Office records only, may be obtained with a picture identification at no charge at the Administrative/Records Office.
Concealed weapon application and fees are handled through the KG County Circuit Court Clerks Office, view the Virginia State Police Forms website.
The Administrative/Records Office is open for business, Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The 911 Communications Center is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The Sheriff's Office may be contacted at 540-775-2049.
46.2-1054. Suspension of objects or alteration of vehicle so as to obstruct view of driver. It shall be unlawful for any person to drive a motor vehicle on a highway in the Commonwealth with any object or objects, other than a rear view mirror, sun visor, or other equipment of the motor vehicle approved by the Superintendent, suspended from any part of the motor vehicle in such a manner as to obstruct the driver's clear view of the highway through the windshield, the front side windows, or the rear window, or to alter a passenger-carrying vehicle in such a manner as to obstruct the driver's view through the windshield. However, this section shall not apply (i) when the driver's clear view of the highway through the rear window is obstructed if such motor vehicle is equipped with a mirror on each side, so located as to reflect to the driver a view of the highway for at least 200 feet to the rear of such vehicle or (ii) to safety devices installed on the windshields of vehicles owned by private waste haulers or local governments and used to transport solid waste. (1960, c. 122, 46.1-291.1; 1972, cc. 8, 844; 1987, c. 135; 1989, c. 727.)
To obtain a copy of an incident report (burglary, larceny, destruction of property, etc) that happened at your home or business, submit a written request to the Administrative/Records Office containing the incident details (date, time, incident/case number, etc), or request in person with a picture identification at no charge.
There is a program entitled Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) that provides cash assistance to families with children. This program has strict guidelines that govern assistance. Anyone may apply for this program by obtaining and application at the office for by calling 775-3544 to have one mailed to you. When you pick up your application or call for the application, you will need to set up a time for an interview.
Assistance with rent or utilities is done under limited circumstances. You will be required to complete an application for assistance with the agency. Each case is evaluated and staffed individually. Not all applications will receive assistance.
Any resident of King George County can apply for Food Stamps. You may come by the office or have an application mailed to you. Once the application has been completed you will need to make an appointment for an interview. That can be done by calling 775-3544.
There is a program called State and Local Hospitalization (SLH) that my be able to help pay your hospital bill, as long as you return an application to your local Social Services office within 30 days of your visit to the hospital. It will not cover anything but the hospital bill. This program is based on income and resources only. For children under 18 whose parents are over the income limits for Medicaid and do not have any other medical insurance, there is a medical insurance plan called FAMIS it offered through the state of Virginia. They can be reached by their toll free phone number 1-866-87 FAMIS.
There are 5 groups of people who are eligible for Medicaid. They are:
Applications for Medicaid can be mailed from or picked up at any Social Services office. Items we will need you to provide are verification of any income received in the family and any resources or property you own. That includes life insurance, pension plans, bank accounts, and burial items as well as real estate. Virginia law gives us 45 days to process applications unless someone in your household is pregnant.
The agency has a food bank located within the office. Access to the food bank is restricted to King George residents. The food bank is stocked with non-perishable items. Food will be issued on an emergency basis only.
If you are in the grocery store and you enter the wrong PIN, you have three more chances at entering the correct PIN If you make a mistake four times in one day, you will have to wait until the next day to try again. If you can't remember your PIN, you can come into the agency and select a new one.
First you can call this agency at 775-3544 and request a replacement card or you may call 866-281-2448 to report lost or stolen cards. There will be a $2 replacement fee for your card.
EBT stands for Electronic Benefit Transfer. This is a safe, easy and convenient way to use your food stamp benefits. With EBT you will be using a plastic card called the "Cardinal Card," and a four-digit Personal Identification Number (PIN) to purchase food items at participating grocery stores.
Residents of King George County, who meet established income and resource limits, may be eligible for Food Stamps. Local residents are encouraged to apply if a need exists.
Qualifications for assistance are based a variety of factors, but amongst those are income. If all other factors are okay, and you fall within the necessary income level you may be eligible to receive assistance with the cost of daycare.
Feel free to stop in or call the daycare worker. There is plenty of material available to assist you in selecting a provider.
If you are found eligible for assistance, yes; however, your provider will need to pass a series of background checks, before DSS can approve them as a provider. Among these checks are a Child Protective Services Check and a Virginia State Police check.
No. You may choose a daycare provider in another locality in Virginia.
You will need to come into the office and complete a daycare waiting list form. However in some instances you may not need to complete a waiting list form. Individuals who are receiving TANF or have received TANF within the last 12 months may not need to be placed on a waiting list.
Social Services is open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality considers any solid waste that is flammable, corrosive, reactive or toxic as hazardous waste, and it is important to dispose of these materials correctly and keep them out of soil, groundwater, and the County’s landfill.
King George County holds two household hazardous waste collection days a year at our Sealston convenience center, and typical materials include:
Latex paint is not a hazardous material, and if it is dry, can be disposed of as trash at the Sealston convenience center. Removing the lid and mixing any wet paint with sand or kitty litter will speed up the drying process.
You also don’t have to wait for a household hazardous waste day to recycle motor oil, hydraulic fluid or gear oil. All three can go into the used oil tanks at either convenience center. Used anti-freeze can also go into the used anti-freeze tanks at either center.
The following can be recycled:
The following cannot be accepted at the Purkins - Route 205 convenience center:
All of the above items can be disposed of at the Sealston Landfill except propane tanks and non-latex paints.
Yes. Effective December 1, 2017, any King George County resident or property owner using one of the County’s convenience centers or the sanitary landfill to dispose of household waste and/or recyclable material must have a valid county license decal affixed to their vehicle or properly displayed written authorization from the county administrator. According to Section 13-82 of the Code of the County of King George, Virginia, the county license decal must be “properly affixed on the vehicle windshield to the right of the state inspection sticker.”
No, all services at the facility are free of charge to residents of King George County, as long as they are not business related, and delivered in a non-commercial vehicle.
Unfortunately, we are not able to grant this type of exemption.
This is possible, but only by special pre-approval by the Director of the Department. The approval will be event specific, and not open ended. Please contact Mike Newchok at 540-775-3267, or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, for further information.
If you do not have a county license decal, one can be obtained from the County Commissioner of the Revenue’s office at 10459 Courthouse Drive, Suite 101, King George, VA 22485. Their office phone number is (540) 775-4664, and their hours of operation are 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.
Not necessarily. When you move, do not expect other governmental entities to notify us of your move. It is the taxpayers responsibility to contact the Commissioner of the Revenue, (540) 775-4664, to make a change of address regarding personal property and/or real estate taxes. In not doing so, your bills may not reach you. Not receiving a bill because you fail to change an address does not excuse you from the tax or any subsequent penalties.
The company who prints our tax bills utilizes the NCOA registry (The National Change of Address registry) which uses all address changes made with the United State Post Office. This does not permanently change your address on your tax bill. Tax bills are forwarded based off the info received by the NCAO registry. After a certain time period, the mail forwarding expires. Please update your address with the Commissioner of the Revenue office 540-775-4664.
It is the responsibility of the tax payer (you) to know that a bill is expected and to inquire if you do not receive it.
Use the King George County e-Treasurer Applications website to view taxes paid.
The KING GEORGE COUNTY Treasurer's Office makes every effort to produce and publish the most current and accurate property tax information possible. No warranties, expressed or implied, are provided for the data herein, for its use, or its interpretation. Neither KING GEORGE COUNTY nor the Treasurer's Office assumes any liability associated with use or misuse of this data.
The bills are created and/or accessed by the Commissioner of the Revenue's office therefore all inquires are to be made to that office 540-775-4664 and all corrections are made by them.
Yes. Permanent Decals are required to access the County's trash convenience centers. This decal can be obtained by visiting the Commissioner of the Revenue office.
Not necessarily. When you move, do not expect other governmental entities to notify us of your move. It is the taxpayers responsibility to contact the Commissioner of the Revenue, (540) 775-4664, to make a change of address regarding personal property and/or real estate taxes. In not doing so, your bills may not reach you. Not receiving a bill because you fail to change an address does not excuse you from the tax or any subsequent penalties.
You should keep your receipts but if they are not locatable please visit our e-Treasurer site and you may inquire there.
King George County does not receive your payment electronically. It is received in the form of a paper check. Per the banking industry, when you authorize the bank to pay your bill your account is debited immediately for the funds, but it may take up to 7 days before the bank mails the check to us. Also, please consider the time it takes for the USPS to deliver the check and allow yourself ample time for it to reach us when setting your payment up. It is not unusual to allow 10 - 14 days from the time you authorize your payment online to the time it is RECEIVED by our office. Please add in the memo on the check exactly what you would like the funds applied to to avoid misapplication of payments. Example: water bill acct# 1234, PPyear (personal property), REyear (real estate).
Credit Cards (Visa/MasterCard) can be used in the office and on our web-site, visit the e-Treasurer website to pay. A convenience fee will be applied to the total charge. We do not have a Pay-By-Phone privilege.
Dog tags are to be purchased each year by January 31st. To purchase a dog tag you will need to bring in a copy of the current Rabies Certificate, not the Rabies Tag. The cost of the tags are as follows:
All corrections, add/delete, of vehicles must be done by the office of The Commissioner of the Revenue, call 540-775-4664.
If you just paid off your mortgage and would like the tax bills sent to your current address, please contact the Treasurer's Office at (540) 775-2571 to update our records.
If you received your real estate bill in the mail and you believe your mortgage company is responsible for payment, contact your lender, write your loan number on the bill and forward it to the mortgage company. You can contact the Treasurer's Office at (540) 775-2571 to verify payment has been received.
King George County does not prorate personal property taxes therefore you are taxed for the entire year on what you owned in King George County as of January 1st. Those moving out and/or selling after the first are responsible for the entire year; But those moving in and/or purchasing after the first will not be taxed until January 1st of the following year.
Unfortunately, land transfers do not travel through the system as quickly as one would like, so if you get a bill please forward it to the new owners or return it to the Treasurers' Office, please list the new owner if you know who they are.
Many people ask if King George County has a list of real estate properties that have delinquent taxes and are eligible for land sale. King George County has an agreement with the firm Sands Anderson PC to handle the properties that are eligible for land sale. If you would like more information on the properties eligible for land sale, please contact Sands Anderson PC at 540-373-2504. The office is located at 725 Jackson Street Suite 217 Fredericksburg, VA 22401.
The state holds refunds due to delinquent personal property taxes. However, we don’t immediately receive those funds. For the Treasury to receive the funds from the state, the claim must be finalized first. The taxpayer can call our office and notify us that they would like us to finalize with the state or an automatic finalization will be done within 45 days of receiving notification of a match from the state of the taxpayer’s refund. If the taxpayer chooses to finalize or automatic finalization has occurred, the state does keep 4% of any amount being held and then we would receive those funds approximately around the 15th of the following month. Example: Finalization date: March 1st, state refund held: $100, State keeps 4%: $4.00 , Amount applied to delinquent taxes $96.00, Approximate receiving date: April 15th. If the claim with the state hasn’t been finalized, the taxpayer can pay off their balance and receive their full check from the state within 4-6 weeks.
Pay off all delinquency taxes, before automatic finalization date (see question 1 for details) and the state will mail back your refund within 4-6 weeks upon notification that the delinquent taxes have been paid in full.
The Treasurer has the authority to withhold state registrations by taxpayer’s social security number for vehicles owned, or co-owned (cosigned), until all delinquent personal property taxes are paid in full by the owner or co-owner(cosigned). In addition, an administrative fee in the amount of $20.00, and a DMV Stop fee in the amount of $30.00, will be imposed to cover the cost of this enforcement action. Once we are notified of all delinquent personal property taxes and DMV fees are paid, the stop will be released by the end of the business day. If we aren’t notified of the payment, the stop will be released on the following business days report. Once the stop is removed, the taxpayer is eligible to register vehicle immediately.